cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Black Tank Question

GoPackGo
Explorer
Explorer
Newbie here. I pick up my new 5th wheel in about a week so it's time to get serious about a few things.

Within a few months, I will be going fulltime.

Seems like black tanks can be 'challenging' to keep clean, especially the monitors in them. Here's my question:

What about dumping the black tank as normal at the end of a stay in a campground, but then filling the black tank 1/3 or 1/2 full of clean water, and driving to the next campground with it partially full, allowing the water to splash around and hopefully loosening up anything that refused to leave at the previous campground ? Then do a dump just after hooking up at the new campground.

Does that make any sense ?

Thanks in advance,

Tim
18 REPLIES 18

Beaker
Explorer
Explorer

Nothing makes any sense to those monitors.
2008 Silverado 2500HD Duramax
2010 Cruiser 26RK

relaxin
Explorer
Explorer
stro1965 wrote:
I was reading my KZ owners manual and it recommends adding a jug of Drano or Liquid Plumber to the black tank to break up solids. Anyone ever try it?

Not yet, but I imagine if you had a "concrete" poop pyramid that would not leave,,, those having an acid content would do the job to break em down,,,, but for the cost and the fact you would need possibly more than one container,,,, a few buckets of hot water and some laundry soap does an amazing job combined with a rough or long road.
Relaxin, hikin, canoin, enjoyin life
headin down the road with a 29' reflection, canoe, camera, & hammock. 2022 GMC extended cab 6.6 litre gasser.
Rug rats grown and gone, just me and my beautiful little lady.

kennethwooster
Explorer
Explorer