cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

ERS for FW's

Padlin
Explorer
Explorer
Time to renew my Emergency Roadside Service and the question came up while talking about it as to how does a tow service tow your FW if your TV breaks down. Has anyone run into such? I'm new to FW's.
Happy Motoring
Bob & Deb

W Ma.
12 F150 HD SCAB EcoBoost LB 4x4
14 Escape 5.0 TA
11 REPLIES 11

shadows4
Explorer III
Explorer III
Never mind.
2016 4X4 F350,CC,SB,Lariat,6.7L diesel,
2015 Coachmen Chapparal 324 TSRK
B&W Patriot 16K hitch.

padredw
Nomad
Nomad
A few years ago we had a spring to break on the fifth-wheel in Dalhart, Texas. The pickup was completely operative but the trailer could not "roll."

Good Sam Roadside Service arranged for a truck to come up from Amarillo about 80 miles away (as I recall.) This was a "low boy" trailer and the driver pulled the fifth-wheel (34') onto his trailer. He had to take back roads into Amarillo because there were overpasses which were too low on the main highway through Dumas into Amarillo.

It did take most of the day, but the tow itself was handled extremely well. Our trailer was taken to a very large truck facility which was able to make repair/replacement and get us back on the road the next day. We were able to drive the pickup to a motel.

On a different occasion we were about 45 miles west of West Monroe, Louisiana when we had a spring to break (please don't ask that question!:R) This time a truck was sent out from West Monroe without a trailer and the driver was able to make some temporary repairs so we could follow him back to the large truck facility where he worked. Again, it took many hours, but the tow was handled well.

Both these incidents were handled by Good Sam Roadside service. I believe they are better prepared to know what it might take with a fifth-wheel than some other services.

Hope this helps. BTW, we have replaced our springs with those of much heavier rating.

john_bet
Explorer
Explorer