cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

I am new to rv's Fiberglass vs metal siding

250rwitha7_3
Explorer
Explorer
I am new to a lot of Rv features, and I am trying to figure out what exactly I want before purchasing one. I like to keep things for a long time, so I want to make sure I get what's best for me for the long haul.

First question is fiberglass vs metal siding? What are the pros and cons of each?

I am looking for a 5th wheel toy hauler and am narrowing down to sierra sport and weekend warrior. Looking for one 28-32ft without a garage. Are there other makes I should also be looking at?

Tandem vs triple axle? I just look at triple axle is 2 more tires to replace?

I feel like I am clueless. I have a f250 with a 7.3 powerstroke for a tow vehicle.
15 REPLIES 15

tinner12002
Explorer
Explorer
Most alum sided RVs I do believe are wood const in the side wall where as RVs with fiberglass exterior usually have alum studs in side walls.
2015 Ram 3500/DRW/Aisin/auto/Max tow/4.10s,Cummins, stock Laramie Limited--Silver
Tequila Sunrise 2012 Ultra Classic Limited
2018 Raptor 428SP

250rwitha7_3
Explorer
Explorer
valhalla360 wrote:
Not sure what you mean by toy hauler without a garage. That is typically what defines a toy hauler.

Number of axles is about weight, though newer rigs you heavier axles and tires to keep down to twin axles. The trade off is this is where you read stories of blow outs. Those heavy duty trailer tires are produced in small batches and then ran near their limits, so quality control is harder. Realistically, you don't get to pick the number of axles. The number of axles the trailer comes with is the number of axles. You don't get to add an extra.

What I mean by no garage is for the toy hauler to be all open and not have a wall from the kitchen to the garage with a door.

From what I have read some trailers come with 2 7,500 lbs axles and others come with triple 5,000 lbs axles?