cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

What is the procedure for buying a fifth wheel?

journeyernow
Explorer
Explorer
Hello! We are looking to buy our first RV and are very excited! We have decided that a fifth wheel would give our family the most space. We have been looking around and see a few that we like.

So, since we have never done this before, we are sort of clueless as to how to start the buying process.

What is the procedure?

Thanks! We can use all the help that we can get!
34 REPLIES 34

calamus
Explorer
Explorer
kaydeejay wrote:
calamus wrote:
http://www.theautochannel.com/news/2002/11/03/149912.html

We have a 2003 Duramax diesel 3/4 ton and a 36' 5th wheel @13,000lbs. Dry I was reading all this and thinking Wow I dont have enough truck to pull my 5th wheel, that I have been towing for 5 years! I pulled up the link and chevy 3/4 looks to be rated at 16,000lbs for a 5th wheel. The motors are all the same in 3/4 and 1 ton trucks That being said we are looking to get a 1-ton diesel dually. Mostly because we Tow livestock and tractors also.
Just because you have done it OK so far does not make it right!
You are WAY over payload rating for that truck and (more importantly) probably over RAWR as well.
I recommend the OP does NOT go down this road!

Thats funny because it looks like you have about the same set up? It looks like pay load max is 3,360lbs. and the hitch weight is about 1700lbs. on a 13,000lbs 5th wheel. Somewhere Im confused because this is 99% of the set ups I see at the lake every weekend? I do know I have pulled it all over the state and South Dakota also and never been stopped or had problems. Will it pull it up hills with out slowing down no but a bigger truck with the same motor is not going to go up hills any faster?
2015 3500HD Chevy Dually Duramax, 2008 Sundance 2014 22'SSX bennington pontoon

jdog
Explorer
Explorer
Go find what you want and like and then buy it.

journeyernow
Explorer
Explorer