cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

When Tires are Changed on a 5th Wheel

MSFSnTEXAS
Explorer
Explorer
This is my first time to own a 5th wheel. Lots of questions still. But the immediate question I have is about the tires being changed tomorrow.

Again, I know I'm going to sound like a total fool, but will the 5th wheel remain hitched to the truck when they jack up the 5th wheel to remove the tires? Or do I unhitch from the truck and lower the jacks (front only, rear and front)? Seems to me that if I unhitched and lowered jacks that when they jack up the 5th wheel that it would have a negative impact to the jacks.
16 REPLIES 16

jnharley
Explorer
Explorer
You must follow the recommendations for re torquing the lugs after tires have been removed. It is especially important for aluminum wheels. You have to re torque them every 25 miles for the first hundred miles and then again at 150 miles. If you do not do this, you run the risk of a tire coming off. A pain yes, but very important.
2015 Dodge Dually
2012 NuWa Discover America 355CK

JIMNLIN
Explorer
Explorer
NHIrish wrote:
And don't let them jack under the axle tube itself. Amazing how many guys start to do that.

Actually its the best/safest/less jacking place to jack from when changing a flat tire on the side of the road for a std leaf spring suspension. Place the jack under the axle tube next to the U bolt and nothing gets bent or crushed.
Both of my truck tire dealers use a lifting beam placed under the trailers axles with one hyd jack under each beam.

Now if its the square thin wall torsion type axle tubes then those thin walls can crush or bend.
<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<

To answer the OP question it doesn't make any difference if the trailer is hooked to the truck or unhooked. A experienced tire shop has the equipment and know how to show you or anyone how its done safely/properly.