cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

12volt DC vs 120volt AC question

bfkhome
Explorer
Explorer
I'm new to this RV stuff so bear with me and what is probably a very elementary basic question.

I have many lights in my interior coach that are 12volt DC fixtures. I know when the coach is turned off and not connected to shore power or the generator running, then the lights are working off of my batteries.

But if I have the generator on or am connected to shore power does the battery still get used to power these lights? In other words am I still putting a drain on the battery or does something switch over when it senses the 120volt AC and the battery is temporarily cut out of the loop?
13 REPLIES 13

Golden_HVAC
Explorer
Explorer
Hi,

The battery stays in the "Loop". However it is not typically supplying power while plugged in or running the generator.

What happens is the converter/charger can put out up to about 45 amps (might be a 55 or 60 amp model?). If the battery is really low, it will accept most of that power. If you are running 10 amps of lights (about 9 of them) then the charger will supply all 10 amps + have about 10 more amps to run things like the refrigerator circuit board, furnace, water pump, ect, and still have another 25 - 45 amps available to recharge the battery. The battery might not be in the mood to accept all 25 amps. Once the battery voltage is around 14.0 volts, the amperage into it will drop a lot. So it is like a frog jumping 1/2 way to the end of a log. THe first steps are large ones, but get smaller as the frog is closer to the end. Charging a very dead battery, it will accept a lot of power quickly, but will slow it's charge amperage as it gets up to about 80% full, and might take 1 hour to put in 40 amp hours when 40% full, and take 3 hours to put in 40 amp hours when 85% full.