cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Approx Maint Costs For Used 28' Class C After Purchase?

BoxinTheCompass
Explorer
Explorer
Been thinking about buying used rental class C unit, possibly Four Winds Majestic 28A (thanks to input from gotsmart, Iamichabod and a few others on this forum) but am wondering what to expect for how much approximate costs would run for the following work to be done after the sale, I have no experience with this, but am I looking at $$$ or $ or what? (Now I know it can vary quite a bit but just trying to get ballpark idea). I guess its more piece of mind

Here's the list (stolen from another suggestion elsewhere but I cant find the link now):

1: Having the black/grey/fresh tanks professionally cleaned.

2: Drop the generator, have it checked out the right way by the Onan people, and to prevent headaches, slap a new carb onto it just to be safe. Plus, during this stage, I can get an EnergyCommand system installed which gives the ability for the genset to auto-start if the batteries get low.

3: Change the spark plugs and coils. Ford V-10s are reliable, and this is a relatively small thing, but good to have done.

4: New tires. (I thought they sold these units with new or fairly fresh rubber?)

5: Furnace and ducts cleaned out if possible.

6: Fluids flushed and changed (oil, ATF, etc.)

7: Change out batteries, perhaps add another in parallel if there is room to the house set. Some class Cs have a drawer that can fit two... but just have a single present.

8: Change out cooling hoses and clamps

Does the above sound reasonable and any idea on about how much this may run for 28` class C?

As always any input is appreciated...
27 REPLIES 27

super_camper
Explorer
Explorer
BoxinTheCompass wrote: