cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Class A vs. Class C engine access...

groundhogy
Explorer
Explorer
I'm new at this and have seen a couple of RVs close up.
I was thinking that from the few Ive seen, the As seem to have better engine access than the class Cs.

I posted this in the Class C forum earlier, now I'm posting it here.

The Class C guys said I was right about the access, but that since the Cs are built in the Ford or Chevy factory, they are basically trucks and any shop will help or work on them.

They also said some of the class A wiring/ connector practices are not as robust to weather and age. Nor is the documentation.

Class A Fasteners can be of lesser quality and not age well.

Also, since the engine access panel is larger and more into the living space of the class A, there is more noise and heat generated compared to class Cs.

Responses?

groundhogy
23 REPLIES 23

olfarmer
Explorer
Explorer
I have owned both, 3 C's and 2 A's. As far as access to the engine it depends on the manufacturer and what you are trying to do to the engine. Some things are easier on both. If the engine needs to be removed the C's are usually much easier.
I completely disagree with the noise level, both of my A's have been much quieter than the C's I have owned. With my current one, you can hardly hear the engine unless it shifts down on a grade but the C's were worse.
As far as the wiring, I think that depends on the quality of the coach builder as does the quality of the fasteners. I really don't believe the class A manufacturers would use cheaper components than the class C manufacturers and actually many brands make both classes.
I prefer the A class because the chassis is usually heavier and I have seen a lot of class Cs with over the cab leakage problems and poorly lengthened chassis frames.
That being said there are many very nice class C's on the road.
Ed & Ruby & the 2 cats
2001 Winnebago Brave 30W
7.4 gas Work Horse Chassis