cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Details for Clear Coat Repair

ncrowley
Explorer
Explorer
I have areas where the clear coat is coming off. I got a quote for $3K to repair and it is more than I want to spend right now. I would like to try and repair a small area and see how it goes. I have read that others have done this with varying degrees of success.

Questions:

What is the "best" clear coat to get? Should I get a spray or brush on? What exact brand/type do I get?

When you are using sand paper, I assume you go around the edges until you have gotten into a solid area. What type of sand paper? How do you do this so you do not sand off the paint?

How do you clean the area before you put on the clear coat?

Anything else I should know before attempting this?
Nancy
Newmar Northern Star
26 REPLIES 26

rrev
Explorer
Explorer
X2 with Bird Freak. Im a pro too. Pay th
the money
2008 Chevrolet Silverado 2500HD CCSB
2016 Starcraft Autumn Ridge 329BHU
2007 Starcraft Homestead 282DBS (Retired)

chili_s_trip
Explorer II
Explorer II
I repaired a small area mainly to stop it from spreading. First I used a plastic scraper to remove loose clearcote. Then 2000 grit sand paper. Alcohol to clean. Masked off and used clear cotespray can from Walmart. Barely notice able and has lasted 2 years. Less than $10. Good luck.
Jack h.
2005 Fleetwood Bounder 32W 8.1.
2009 Honda Fit Sport

Bird_Freak
Explorer II
Explorer II
I am a professional painter. PAY the MONEY! You don't just sand and spray clearcoat. you will have to respray color also for it to look right.
Eddie
03 Fleetwood Pride, 36-5L
04 Ford F-250 Superduty
15K Pullrite Superglide
Old coach 04 Pace Arrow 37C with brakes sometimes.
Owner- The Toy Shop-
Auto Restoration and Customs 32 years. Retired by a stroke!
We love 56 T-Birds

YC_1
Nomad
Nomad