Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Dingy towing braking systems

Gamecock7483
Explorer
Explorer
Hi all,
I am new to Motorhome traveling and dingy towing. I am looking for a braking system and two I am considering are the InvisiBrake system by Road Master and the BrakeBuddy Classic. Does anyone have experience with either of these systems or information on which is the better system? Any help greatly appreciated.

Many thanks
22 REPLIES 22

Gonzo42
Explorer
Explorer
I find that it is important to go throught the syncronization procedure each time I set up the BB. If you don't have it or the manual I can reprint it for you here.

In addition I press the initial setup button which causes the BB to actuate 5 times. This lets me run to the back of my toad and verify all my brake lights are working.

As I have it set up, the Toad weighs in about 2700 lb and the manual says 40 psi but I find it works better at 45. Also a conversation with the rep says that I should set the sensitivity on level roads at a low setting but on mountainous roads much higher.

I have mine set at 6. When I brake my MH lightly or moderately the BB does not actuate, but a firm pedal will cause the BB to actuate, and the remote light tells me it is working.
MOTHER SHIP Winnebago View 24H (2007 Dodge Sprinter 3500 Chassis, 2008 Body)3.0 L M-B Diesel V6 bought used with 24K miles. Toad: ROCKY the Flying Squirrel.

subtroll
Explorer
Explorer
We used a Brake Buddy for about 10 years but because of the small effort required to install and remove the unit, I occasionally skipped the installation on short trips. After a couple of towbar problems, I recognized the liability issues of not having a brake system installed and had Camping World install the Invis-brake.

Unfortunately they installed it on the floor of the back seat because they said it wouldn't fit under the Jeep Liberty seat. Seems to work OK but I regret the choice because of the loss of foot room in the back seat.