cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Hill Climbing

ROYBUCK
Explorer
Explorer
Just want to run this by some of you, at the present time when I climb a (Hill or Mountain) I let the Allison do the changing or down shift as needed, if it don't down shift at 1400 RPM I will down shift it my self, I haven't had a problem with over heating, just wanted to know if what I am doing is the proper way to handle the Mountain Climbs. A little late to ask since I have been doing it this way for 15 years. It is a 330 ISC 950 Torque at 1400 RPM. Thanks Roy
Roy B Coal Miners Son
USMC Ret
Semper Fi
24 REPLIES 24

Kidoo
Explorer
Explorer
Cummins and Allison are efficient automatic pieces of engineering: EGT, downshift, temperature, RPM overspeed limiter, etc.. I take a look at the provided gauges once in a while and I just enjoy the automatic ride.
Monaco Cayman 34 2003, Cummins 300HP
Bigfoot 2008, 10.4, F350, 2006, Diesel 6.0, Black, 4x4, long box, Air lift, Rancho 9000, Rear sway bar.

wolfe10
Explorer
Explorer
Arnie,

Certainly, one CAN just let the Allison "do its thing".

But, by definition, a transmission is REactive (seeing what happened behind you and the heavier the vehicle, the further behind you it looks because of MOMENTUM.

A driver can be PROactive-- anticipating what is happening in FRONT OF YOU.
Brett Wolfe
Ex: 2003 Alpine 38'FDDS
Ex: 1997 Safari 35'
Ex: 1993 Foretravel U240

Diesel RV Club:http://www.dieselrvclub.org/

Nomadac
Explorer
Explorer
Based on my tour of the Allison plant and the Q&A I will let the transmisson do the shifting as programmed as the tour guide suggested. If you choose read the manual if have a different opinion JMO.
Arnie
2003 Travel Supreme MH
38KSO1 Cummins ISC 350HP
2004 Honda Pilot w/SMI Air Force One Brake Sys.
1963 Pontiac Grand Prix 20' Enclosed Car Trailer

WILDEBILL308
Explorer II
Explorer II