Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Maintenance Mahem

SteveMissingDix
Explorer
Explorer
Hello All,

I am new to owning this '08 HRambler Vacationer XL 34'. The facts are as follows:
It wouldn't crank. I have had trouble with the batteries dying in the past so I thought they might be bad. Not sure how old they were. Before running to the auto parts store I went ahead and changed the oil and fuel filter/separator. I filled the filter with fuel.

I went to the store, had the batteries checked and both had bad cells. I brought new batteries back and installed them. I was pretty sure I knew which wires went where. The entry step works fine (and runs off the chassis). When I entered the coach, before inserting the key, the Alt Fail light was on and the regen temperature warning. The Alt Light hadn't come on while operating the RV previously.

When I put the key in and turn to on position the battery isn't showing any power. I tried to crank it initially, for a few minutes. It tries to start but doesn't. I realize it might have air in the lines and then turn the key on (and wait) and off several times. I 'bumped' the ignition and then wait. I cannot hear the fuel pump work.

I haven't tried anything further as I wanted to throw this out to the group. Yes, I should have taken a picture of the battery compartment but didn't as it seemed straigtforward how it was wired, I also wrapped some of the wires together with electrical tape so as not to confuse anything, etc. I think the wiring is okay but I have attached pictures so

1. please let me know if anything looks wrong in the wiring?
WIRING PICS HERE
https://www.flickr.com/photos/128054324@N06/

2. Why isn't the battery showing a charge on the instrument panel?
3. Is there air in the lines and any tip on how to get this thing started?

Thank you,
Steve
10 REPLIES 10

Hjudge49
Explorer
Explorer