cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Review on the new 7.3 Ford V*

wallaceb
Explorer
Explorer
Interested in the latest comments/reviews from owners of the new Ford 7.3 V8 gas engine.
26 REPLIES 26

Gjac
Explorer III
Explorer III
ron.dittmer wrote:
mleekamp wrote:
I'd say it's more about the wind resistance than the weight of your RV that affects mileage....
I agree that the aerodynamics of the rig will influence the fuel economy. I am no expert, but I feel it could be nearly as influential as the over-all weight.

Some motor homes are flat-faced compared to others built on the same chassis. Then there is the size of the face. Some rigs are taller and wider than others. Given equal weight and identical chassis, a worse-case versus best-case scenario, you would see a change in fuel economy. How much? Who knows. But based on numbers shared over the years, I estimate a 10% difference.

A class C (B+) a best case scenario with aerodynamic cap, angled transition walls, narrow body, and lower roof.

I wish I could find a better worst case scenario, but here is something.
How much difference in mpgs or handling between a B+ aero front end and a C with the overhead bed? Does anyone have any data on this? I think it is logical to believe a B+ is better but how much better. The trade off is more room vs better mpg. If only 1 mpg I would choose more space. If the difference was 4mpgs 10 vs 14 mpg I might choose the B+.

DrewE
Explorer II
Explorer II
ron.dittmer wrote:
mleekamp wrote:
I'd say it's more about the wind resistance than the weight of your RV that affects mileage....
I agree that the aerodynamics of the rig will influence the fuel economy. I am no expert, but I feel it could be nearly as influential as the over-all weight.