cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Tire pressure at 80 PSI ?

CodyClassB
Explorer II
Explorer II
I see that the tires on my class B RV is clearly marked 80 PSI, but the previous owner have all 4 tires at around 60 PSI . Should I increase the pressure to 80 PSI ? Sorry to ask this silly question , but I am new to RVs . All the tires for my cars and SUVs are marked at around 35 PSI . Here are some pictures

Moderator had to edit photos to 640 per forum standard.
27 REPLIES 27

gdoug83
Explorer
Explorer
applegater wrote:
I ran 80 rear and 65 front on my sprinter B(2500) but there is a large group of new Bs built on the sprinter 3500 van with dual rear wheels, doubtful you need torun 80 in the rear on those!

I run 55 up front and 75 rear in my 3500. Seems to handle best there. I've played around with combinations up to 60 up front and 80 rear.
Doug
2010 RT RS Adventurous
Sprinter 3500

Fastpaddler
Explorer
Explorer
PSW wrote:
Am I the only guy that adjusts his tires according to temperature?

July and August in this part of the country often see temps in the 90s and above 100. I normally lower my pressures about 5-7 degrees for those months if I am going to be doing a lot of highway driving.

Drive fifty miles or more at a 100F and check your pressure and you will see why I do that very thing. I also do it in my other vehicles.

60 front, 80 rear except in the extreme heat, then 55 and 73-5. We all have our little preferences and quirks.

That IS a great suggestion and procedure. We dont get much extreme heat here but when I lived in Iraq(worked there) I lowered my tire pressure 4 pounds all round--mid afternoon it was around 140 degrees very often.

PSW
Explorer
Explorer
Am I the only guy that adjusts his tires according to temperature?

July and August in this part of the country often see temps in the 90s and above 100. I normally lower my pressures about 5-7 psi for those months if I am going to be doing a lot of highway driving.