cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Unscientific Opinion Poll

RetiredNavy
Explorer
Explorer
I have noticed a large number of RVers who pull into a campground and immediately hook up their sewer line and open the black dump valve and leave it open for weeks at a time. I have been RVing for 15 years and when I bought my first rig, I was told to wait until my black tank was 2/3 full before dumping. Leaving the dump valve open lets the water and liquid go out, but the solid waste tends to build up in the tank. I don't need to describe the potential problems. Plus using the gray tank AFTER dumping the black tank helps to flush out the sewer line. Has the logic for this changed over the years? You can POSSIBLY leave the gray tank open (it is just soapy water usually) but NEVER, NEVER leave the black tank open. Is that still a good rule to follow?
Thanks in advance.
Terry & Nancy
Retired Navy

2016 Coachmen Concord
300DS Class C Motor Home
27 REPLIES 27

pkick
Explorer
Explorer
Ancient wise man said: No number two on the bus. Makes clean up a lot easier.

Heard stories that leaving the black open all of the time will cause certain materials to solidify and require a professional tank cleaning.

dahkota
Explorer
Explorer
How do you know they leave it open for weeks at a time?

When we arrive at a full hook up site, our tanks are usually full. So we hook up and dump as we set up. Some time later that night we will close the valves but it could be in the dark by then. Maybe you missed it.
2015 Jeep Willys Wrangler
2014 Fleetwood Bounder 33C
States camped: all but Hawaii
more than 1700 days on the road

2oldman
Explorer II
Explorer II
downtheroad wrote:
I've never noticed or even tried to notice what holding tank other campers have open or closed..
I haven't quite figured that one out either. Seems like you'd have to get pretty close to see if any valve is open. Oh well!