cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Camera help needed

bobcouch
Explorer
Explorer
I am an amateur photographer - emphasis on amateur.
For the past few years, I have been using a Canon EOS Xti camera with good results, but lately, I can't seem to get a good picture.
Everything is slightly blurry, and I can't decide if the pics are out of focus or the problem is something else. They almost look like exposure time is set too long.
I've tried doing a reset to default, but it didn't seem to help.
Could it just need a professional cleaning?
What else could I try?
Thanks
Bob and Honey Couch
2008 Keystone Everest
2007 Dodge MegaCab w/ 5.9 Cummins
http://boggythicket.blogspot.com/
25 REPLIES 25

scbwr
Explorer II
Explorer II
1. Have you tried to take a few shots that are manually focused and see if they come out sharp? Use a tripod if possible. If you can't get a manual focus shot to work, there's got to be a some internal problem (if all contacts are clean).

2. Have more than one lens? If so, does the problem occur with each lens.

3. Clean contacts on all lenses and camera body.

4. Does the problem occur when using every mode: P M A S??

5. If you've cleaned all contacts, and the problem exists irregardless of what mode you use or lens, than it's time to send it in to Canon.

Or....there's some great new cameras on the market!!!!
2012 Newmar Bay Star 3302
Blue Ox Avail
BrakeBuddy Advantage
2015 Malibu

"Get busy living, or get busy dying."
Andy Dufresne, The Shawshank Redemption

scbwr
Explorer II
Explorer II
mabynack wrote:
You probably need to clean the autofocus sensor. Also try cleaning your lenses. I always keep a UV filter on my lenses and replace them about once a year. It's a lot cheaper to replace the filter than the lens.