cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

DirectTVwith Winegard combatibility question

MX955
Explorer
Explorer
We recently purchased a motorhome that has a Winegard Minimax RT8035T satellite on it and I am trying to get my HR23 receiver to work with it but not having any luck. The receiver is activated and works fine in the house. I guess my question are these two compatible and if so what do I need to do. I keep getting errors saying it cannot find signal.I am very new to this whole satellite tv thing and don't know very much,so any help with what would work would be appreciated ...Thanks!
14 REPLIES 14

Bill_Satellite
Explorer II
Explorer II
That one is the Tailgater from Dish Network (HINT, Who makes the tailgater) which is designed to work with the Dish VIP-211K and nothing else..

In case your hint is to imply that Dish Network makes the Tailgater, that is incorrect. It is made by King Controls (King Dome).
What I post is my 2 cents and nothing more. Please don't read anything into my post that's not there. If you disagree, that's OK.
Can't we all just get along?

wa8yxm
Explorer III
Explorer III
DirecTV is compatable with all but one of the "Dome" type antennas. That one is the Tailgater from Dish Network (HINT, Who makes the tailgater) which is designed to work with the Dish VIP-211K and nothing else..

DirecHDTV will not work (Except in SD mode) with a dome.

The Domes have some kind of selector or programming switch, Wineguard generally uses a DIP switch (Dual Inline Package if you wonder what DIP means) under the dome. You need to set the switches per the chart in the fine manual to make it look for the proper bird.
Home was where I park it. but alas the.
2005 Damon Intruder 377 Alas declared a total loss
after a semi "nicked" it. Still have the radios
Kenwood TS-2000, ICOM ID-5100, ID-51A+2, ID-880 REF030C most times

MX955
Explorer
Explorer