Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

F-150 V6 Ecoboost Turbo XLT 8,400 TC

er78mph
Explorer
Explorer
Hello to all and thanks all in advance,

So I've figured out that this journey of figuring out a tow vehicle is definitely not an easy. But I think that I have found a truck that could meet my needs. I was wondering if this truck could perform when pulling trailers? I am a newbie and looking on purchasing a 20' trailer and really don't see myself towing anything bigger than 20-25 feet . The V8's are expensive! Is this a good truck for what I need it for? Thinking of taking long trips to national parks? My buddy mentioned that the engine might not be enough? But if the tow capacity is 8,400 and I stay well below, the truck should be good? Sorry for all the questions but just trying to make my way through this adventure! Thanks!
9 REPLIES 9

BigSur2
Explorer
Explorer
You are good with that. Listen to the advice on here....but you are good.

I tow a 37'er with a heavily modified 1/2 ton pickup. Have done TONS of research and also have a very well paid, trained, personal mechanic. "Some" of what you read on here in regards to weight is garbage....you have to do the research and determine the capacities for yourself.
BigSur2
2016 Jayco White Hawk 33RSKS

bikendan
Explorer
Explorer
Please pay attention to the truck's PAYLOAD capacity, as much as you are the Towing Capacity.
Dan- Firefighter, Retired:C, Shawn- Musician/Entrepreneur:W, Zoe- Faithful Golden Retriever(RIP:(), 2014 Ford F150 3.5 EcoboostMax Tow pkg, 2016 PrimeTime TracerAIR 255 w/4pt Equalizer and 5 Mtn. bikes and 2 Road bikes

APT
Explorer
Explorer
Anything but the base naturally aspirated V6 shoudl do well. The 2.7L Ecoboost is an interesting compromise that should perform well with <6000 pound loaded RV.
A & A parents of DD 2005, DS1 2007, DS2 2009
2011 Suburban 2500 6.0L 3.73 pulling 2011 Heartland North Trail 28BRS
2017 Subaru Outback 3.6R