cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Pressure regulator for "City Water" Hookup

AlwaysDreaming
Explorer
Explorer
Has anybody had an experience where city water pressure so high it damaged the RV plumbing? I am a newbie, but it sounds pretty far fetched.

Does a pressure regulator provide weaker pressure under normal pressure conditions?
25 REPLIES 25

myredracer
Explorer II
Explorer II
I have read a few posts over the years of some seeing CG pressure as high as 200 psi. I installed a "telltale" gauge which records max pressure and has been as high as 120 psi at some unknown CG. You just never know what a CG is going to deliver for their system pressure. If in a large CG they could turn it up high so that sites at the far end of long runs get adequate pressure. ALWAYS use a regulator - period. The last thing you want in an RV is a plumbing leak.

I don't know where some get that RVs can only handle pressure of around 45-55 psi. RVs are supposed to be capable of withstanding, and are supposed to be tested for, 100 psi or more. RVIA says max 80 psi. NFPA 1192 which covers RVs says 100 psi, or it might be 110 psi. Can't recall exactly and can't find a free version of 1192 at the moment. In Canada, plumbing systems have to comply with CSA Z240. When I spoke to RVwaterfilterstore a few years ago, he recommended running at 65 psi, so that's what our regulator is set at and after 4 seasons, zero issues.

RVs have been using PEX pipe & fittings for quite a few years now and is rated for 150 or so psi (depends on temp.) just like in houses. What I don't trust tho. is the cheap plumbing fixtures in RVs and I don't trust toilet valves in particular. Low pressure can also be a problem - our toilet started to fill once by itself on under 10 psi but happened to be their at the time...