cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Should I be worried about an RV that is too long?

abednego
Explorer
Explorer
The wife and I are going to get an RV within a few months. We're going back and forth on the length that would be appropriate. Based on our non-negotiables (king sized bed w/bunkhouse) the models that I like are closer to 40'. I am curious as to what I should expect when towing such a vehicle.

Would a 32' TT be easier to maneuver than a 40' FW? I have no experience towing an RV; furthermore, I'll be buying a truck to tow this. I say this to indicate I do not currently own or drive a truck.

Given my lack of experience, is it a bad idea to get a 40' FW? I live in the Denver area and we're looking at local/CO campsites for fun on weekends and longer trips as vacations up to South Dakota/Utah/Wyoming.

I realize that I'll need to practice driving around locally which is not a problem. I can give the wife a walkie-talkie for guidance. Me personally I'm not worried at all. I'll learn. The wife feels a bit different and doesn't want the RV experience to become cumbersome and not fun for the family. I plan on getting a Ram 3500 Mega-Cab SRW with 4.10 gears.

Your help and advice is greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

-abe
50 REPLIES 50

rfryer
Explorer
Explorer
I can’t say about the difference between a 32’ and 40’. But everything’s a compromise with RV’s. Big is nice parked, but the tradeoff is maneuverability and places you can go and where you can camp. 40’ will likely exclude you from national forest cg’s and the state parks I’m familiar with. Even 32’ will be iffy with nf cg’s, you won’t get far from the pavement and it will be difficult to maneuver the roads through them. So where you want to camp is a critical consideration in choosing size. In those sizes you’re probably looking more at commercial cg’s than public land camping and advance reservations may be a good idea if you want to be assured of finding a campsite.

hitchup