cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Will This Be a Bad Move for a New RVer?

Mooredb
Explorer
Explorer
I am totally new to owning an RVing and I have decided I need to get a toy hauler. I need it for events that I will be traveling around to throughout the year.

I found a beautiful 39ft Highlander https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zOZDSnCr8pc&t that I am interested in. I plan to buy a 1 ton dully to tow the trailer but here's my questions.

1) I don't have a problem driving and pulling trailers but man this is HUGE, and I am a bit worried that it might be too much for a beginner to take on. There are so many things I don't know what I don't know. I would be interested in hearing people's feedback on this size of trailer, pulling and trying to find a place to park. Is this a mistake for a beginner to start out with?

2) There are SO many different brands out there but they all seem to somewhat have the same look and feel to them. But not sure about the quality and the company. The one I am looking at is 2017 Highlander HF39RGL, does anyone have any experience with this brand? What other brands should I consider? I'll be on the road 4 months out of the year traveling and I want something that will hold up and be comfortable.

Thanks for any advice!
27 REPLIES 27

bikendan
Explorer
Explorer
winniman wrote:

x2 I would get an rv and pull the trailer. If you go the TH route, Grand Design makes a quality one. Lots of reviews out there. Some of the Lippert frames had problems on other mfgers.

a Toyhauler IS a RV. so are truck campers, travel trailers, 5th wheels, popups AND Motorhomes.:B
Dan- Firefighter, Retired:C, Shawn- Musician/Entrepreneur:W, Zoe- Faithful Golden Retriever(RIP:(), 2014 Ford F150 3.5 EcoboostMax Tow pkg, 2016 PrimeTime TracerAIR 255 w/4pt Equalizer and 5 Mtn. bikes and 2 Road bikes

winniman
Explorer
Explorer
John Wayne wrote: