cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Can anyone recommend a GPS for the Bigger rigs for camping?

Blanco1
Explorer
Explorer
Been thinking about buying a GPS that might be more set up fro Truck drivers or large RV's, that would have info that actually helps us vs the GPS units made for people in compact cars.

I'm thinking about this being am a commercial truck driver & also love to camp a lot in my RV in unknown places.

I plan to camp the whole country eventually & think this would be very helpful.

What are your thoughts?
1997 Dodge 4x4, 5 spd manual trans & HotRod 5.9 cummins.
With '85 Lance.
22 REPLIES 22

F350_RR
Explorer
Explorer
beemerphile1 wrote:
Your favorite tablet with "GPS Copilot" installed. The maps are loaded on the tablet (or phone), uses no data and you can custom tune it for RV use.

I have been using CoPilot for several years on iPad and iPhone in the US, Canada and in France. I use a BadElf GPS receiver that connects to devices via Bluetooth so no cell service is needed. If I want "active traffic" on CoPilot I use the iPhone as a Personal Hotspot for the iPad which is not cell equipped.

I still check where I plan to travel on the desktop before going anywhere. Gets me the zoomed out view and possible preferred routing and I make notes as needed. The BadElf receiver runs all day on its rechargeable battery and can be set to log the track as well as turn itself off after sitting still for a set time to conserve battery.

I use the BadElf on the boat with the iPad and marine charts as a backup or for a different view than the Garmin plotter. With a clear south view and a few minutes to acquire more satellites it reports an error of less that 10 feet.

Doug
Doug

Blanco1
Explorer
Explorer
rr2254545 wrote:
owenssailor wrote: