cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Cruise control or not

Goodpete
Explorer
Explorer
I am fairly new to towing and I just thought about using cruise control when towing. I have taken several trips in the last year and realize that I have never used it while towing. Do you use it? Are there any concerns when doing so, other than the obvious?
36 REPLIES 36

Turtle_n_Peeps
Explorer
Explorer
I'm shocked that we haven't heard from anybody that they got an email from a police man that says if you drive in the rain with your CC on your truck will turn into a deadly airplane and go flying through the air and kill scores of people. :R
~ Too many freaks & not enough circuses ~

"Life is not tried ~ it is merely survived ~ if you're standing
outside the fire"

"The best way to get a bad law repealed is to enforce it strictly."- Abraham Lincoln

mikegt4
Explorer
Explorer
I have had cars with CC since the 1980's and count the time that I have used it on my fingers. Never had it on a truck. Then again I don't have automatic transmissions except in full size vans where it is standard equipment.

I never could understand why people think that CC is a fuel saving device, it's NOT unless you can't control your right foot. One of my biggest pet peeves is coming up on 2 people with their CCs set 1 or 2 mph apart and one is passing the other, it takes 2 miles to get around!

SpoiledRotten
Explorer
Explorer
I use it about 90% of the time. If I'm in a hilly area where the TV wants to shift in and out of OD, then I go ahead and keep it off until I'm in a little flatter area. It very seldoms shifts out of OD as long as I'm going 65MPH or more. The turbo boost gauge will shoot up to about 15 - 18 but eases back down just before shifting.
Just the 3 of us...SpoiledRotten, TotallyRotten, and ALittleRotten
2000 F-250 Lariat, CC
7.3 PSTD-Superchipped
2005 33RL2 New Vision - AKA "SpoiledRotten"
2000 Jeep Wrangler Sahara Edition

JIMNLIN
Explorer
Explorer