cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Flat Towing a Chev Pickup

RV_BUDDY_MIKE
Explorer
Explorer
Just purchased a 2015 Thor Palazzo 35.1 and I would like to flat tow my 2013 Chev 4X4 LT pickup instead of having to buy something else. I have read instructions on mounting a Blue Ox baseplate and think maybe I can install myself. Am I fooling myself? Plan to use Ready Brake system towbar. I am relatively new to RVing. I traded in a 30 ft Forest River which I pulled with my truck.

Any comments on the installation would be appreciated.

Thanks Mike
2015 Palazzo Thor Motorcoach 35.1
Retired Agent American General Life (31 years)
Navigator Nancy ๐Ÿ™‚
19 REPLIES 19

RV_BUDDY_MIKE
Explorer
Explorer
Thanks GM Engineer, Been working today on getting all hooked up to tow the Chevy truck. All is working well with shifting the transfer case to neutral. Mine works just the same as yours. I have the Blue Ox towplate on and hooked up the Ready Brake towbar elite. Just haven't hooked up the brakes yet. Still trying to decide on the type of tow lights I want to have. My RV has the amber turn signals, but my truck has red turn signals, two on each side of the truck. Any suggestions? Mike
Navigator Nancy ๐Ÿ™‚

GM_Engineer
Explorer
Explorer
traveylin wrote:
Well....GM engineer . A drive shaft disconnect which I used to use on a 2wd RWD is an acceptable alteration to make it towable

True. My statment was with regards to a vehicle, as built by GM.

traveylin
Explorer
Explorer
Well....GM engineer . A drive shaft disconnect which I used to use on a 2wd RWD is an acceptable alteration to make it towable

GM_Engineer
Explorer
Explorer
FIRE UP wrote:
Mike,