cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

I'm a retired salesman

sidney
Explorer
Explorer
I really enjoy this forum and have found quite a bit of valuable information... and appreciate everyone sharing their knowledge and experience.

But I have never seen so many disparaging comments stereotyping all salesmen as clueless liars and cheats.

It seems when a new poster is asking for help regarding their 1st RV purchase the first advice they receive is "don't trust the salesman", "they are all liars", "the only thing they're concerned about is their commission".

What a bunch of cynics this crowd is!!! I feel sorry for those who have such little faith in humanity.

Granted, there are less than honest people in all walks of life and occupations... you may be one of them, hence your suspicious, distrusting attitudes.

The dealer and salesman I purchased our 2011 RAM from was outstanding.

The RV dealer I'm working with to purchase our 5th wheel is also outstanding.

I didn't sell RV's, TVs, or anything associated with camping. I sold life science research equipment and I'm damn glad many of you were not my customers.
95 REPLIES 95

sidney
Explorer
Explorer
ol Bombero-JC wrote:
sidney wrote:

Again, my point is telling newbies "don't trust the salesman" offers very little assistance to a new RV buyer.

Isn't it more beneficial to offer advice on how to find a good salesman rather than stereotyping all salesman as shysters?

Sidney, Sidney, Sidney......:R.:R.:R

Some buyers are *NOT* riding in their first rodeo..:C

Some are..:(

Some salespersons are completely trustworthy - some dealerships are also..:C

Some are *NOT* trustworthy - they will take every advantage of the "newbies" -or anyone else- to seal a deal..:(

Unfortunately - without posting every instance of being taken to the cleaners......(here) the best general advice to newbies is:
"DON'T Trust"! !.:R

Not too many buyers check Linkedin or the salesperson's "bona fides"