cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Leveling Block questions

mfifield01
Explorer
Explorer
I just purchased my first TT. I have towed and setup my friend's TT over the past year, so I have some knowledge. With his TT, we use 2x10's to get things level. I decided I wanted to get leveling blocks, mainly so I don't have to carry long heavy wood. I bought the Camco 10 pack of blocks. My main issue/concern is chocking when I get to a site. How can you chock these things? It looks like you can buy a set of chocks that fit into the blocks, but one side of the tire would be loose. I see a couple options:

• Only chock the trailer side without levels (don't like this idea)
  • Only raise one wheel and chock the other
  • Buy Camco chocks and have space between a wheel on one of them.

http://www.amazon.com/Camco-44505-Leveling-Blocks-pack/dp/B00480BWCI/ref=pd_sim_263_1?ie=UTF8&refRID=08W6XP4566J4STA44RVN
TT - 2015 Keystone Passport 2810BH

TV - 2013 RAM Lone Star Crew 6'4" 1500 5.7L Hemi 8-Speed (3.92) 4x4 with Factory Air Suspension
16 REPLIES 16

pira114
Explorer II
Explorer II
I use Legos on one side to level, plastic chocks on the other side and hammer them in place with a rubber mallet. Then use the x-chock between the tires up on the Legos.

That's always worked. I've stayed at some pretty darn un-level spots while boondocking too

Lantley
Nomad
Nomad
SoundGuy wrote:
csamayfield55 wrote:
Your only going to level one side so chock the other. There is NO REASON to chock all 4 tires.

Of course there is ... if the site also slopes noticeably front to back and the trailer isn't also chocked on the low side it can easily rotate about the axis of the chocked set. I've had it happen to me and even though it was just a brief shift it wasn't pleasant at all :E ... I wouldn't ever consider not chocking both the low side and high side of any trailer.

Yes I've had the trailer pivot like this as well. It can happen.