cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Rubber roof questions

chris_gaitan
Explorer
Explorer
I just purchased my first travel trailer. I'm not a beginner but I've always had motorhomes. All my previous rv's have had fiberglass or other type roofs. This is the first rubber roof. The trailer is an 04 Fleetwood wilderness 32'. Its in incredible shape but has sat the last 6 years. I want to clean the roof and make sure I keep it in shape since its had no care the past few years. I went to a local rv shop to get some recommended supplies. The gentlemen pointed me to a couple products then told me that if after I wash it to wait a day. After that to take my finger and if the roof gives off any white chalk to my finger the roof needs replaced. Now that just seemed a bit much to me. So I come here to ask the experts. Is this the case? Is a white chalk the death nail to my roof? It has zero leaks and I just can't imagine it would need replacing so soon. Is there a coating I can apply to the roof to make it last, and finally what should I really do maintenance wise to keep it healthy? Thanks in advance
14 REPLIES 14

chris_gaitan
Explorer
Explorer
spoon059 wrote:
ScottG nailed it. You don't have to do anything except caulk the seams on these roofs. People that clean it are only doing it because they want it to look nice. It doesn't extend the life to have it clean.

I would replace the caulk seams with Eternabond (you have to clean the chalky residue off to properly install the Eternabond) and worry more about the tires that have been sitting for 6 years.

Yes indeed I will be replacing the tires and the awning fabric since both are bad. Besides these 2 issues the trailer is in great shape. Still has tags hanging from appliance. The PO bought it brand new and barley used it. I know them so I got an insane deal on it. So the tires and awning are not even a worry for me to replace. I very happy to here though from so many that the roof is a non issue