cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Trade-in advice

scouts1us
Explorer
Explorer
DW and I have been searching for a new TT. We narrowed our choices down to two units at different dealers. I want to trade-in our current TT. My question is; do I take our trailer in with us when we go to try and work out a deal? The dealers are both about 45-50 minutes drive away.I've never done a trade-in before so not sure what to expect......

Steve
16 REPLIES 16

mark1228
Explorer
Explorer
JEBar wrote:
coolbreeze01 wrote:
Seems like RV dealers would offer to sell units on consignment. 10% would be easy money for them and the customer would come out better than trading when it did sell.

unless it is a fairly unique camper, its highly likely that when a dealers sells a camper on consignment, they would lose a sale of a preowned camper from their inventory .... it's highly likely they would make more on one of their inventory units than on a consignment unit

Jim

Very good point Jim

coolbreeze01
Explorer
Explorer
JEBar wrote:
coolbreeze01 wrote:
Seems like RV dealers would offer to sell units on consignment. 10% would be easy money for them and the customer would come out better than trading when it did sell.

unless it is a fairly unique camper, its highly likely that when a dealers sells a camper on consignment, they would lose a sale of a preowned camper from their inventory .... it's highly likely they would make more on one of their inventory units than on a consignment unit

Jim

I don't think dealers are all that picky about where the money comes from.
2008 Ram 3500 With a Really Strong Tractor Motor...........
LB, SRW, 4X4, 6-Speed Auto, 3.73, Prodigy P3, Blue Ox Sway Pro........
2014 Sandsport 26FBSL

JEBar
Explorer
Explorer
coolbreeze01 wrote:

Jim
'07 Freightliner Sportchassis
'06 SunnyBrook 34BWKS

scouts1us
Explorer
Explorer
Thanks for your replies! Lots of good advice for us to consider!

Steve

Tom_N
Explorer
Explorer