Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Travel Trailer - When is it too long ??

MartyW
Explorer
Explorer
Hi all,

I'm a newbie to this forum but I've been towing campers and other trailers for many years, first a pop-up, then 26' class c MH, and now a 20' hybrid. In all the years, about 25' is the longest trailer I've needed to pull.

We're considering a bigger TT for some longer vacations and I'd like to get a reality check by hearing from some folks who have experience pulling longer TT's. And I'd like to hear even if they may have felt their new TT was a bit too long for comfortable towing, even when within weight limits.

We'll be towing with an older, but solid and strong, 1997 Suburban 3/4 ton, 8600 GVWR, 7.4L with 3.73's. Its 4wd rated to tow as is with 3.73's, 8k lbs. The same chassis/engine combo is rated to tow 10k lbs with 4.10 gears.

The newer TT's we've been viewing on the internet seem to go up to 32'-34' and still be within our 8k lbs, as many of them will be in the 6000-6600 lb range dry. It will be just the wife and me and our dog, with only a few hundred lbs of extras. All in all considered, we would be well within the 8k towing max with some of these 32'-34' TTs. The sales folks just look at max limit and say fine, good to go, etc...

But, having seen these longer TT's on the road or in a campground, I've wondered to myself "is that any fun to pull down the road or over a tight bridge, etc"?

Any experienced TT haulers, past/present, I'd be interested in your thoughts as to how long a TT you think you'd be comfortable pulling down the road with our 3/4 ton Suburban.

Thanks in advance,
Marty
18 REPLIES 18

oughtsix
Explorer
Explorer
A travel trailer is too long when you drive around the block and see your tail lights in front of you! ๐Ÿ˜‰
2006 Duramax Crew Cab Long Bed pickup.
2007 Coachman Captiva 265EX trailer.

MartyW
Explorer
Explorer