Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Air in water coming out of sink

revrider87
Explorer
Explorer
Hello everyone.
Newbie here. So if I posted this in the wrong spot please just let me know.
An ways I have a Viking popup with an electric water pump. I had my dealer winterize it last winter and I opened it up for the first time this summer. Everything looked good at first glance.
I filled the holding tank and drained it to rinse it out. I then filled it again and wanted to run water through the pump. I turned it on the pump runs and water comes out but so does a lot of air. Then eventually the pump continues to run very softly like it never fully builds up the pressure. If I fill the tank until it spits out and then turn the pump on it works good for about a gallon or so then starts to spit and sputter with a ton of air in the lines. Any suggestions? I really don't want to bring it to the dealer if there is a simple fix or something im missing like a way to bleed the system of the air. I'm pretty handy and want to learn more about this system but this is my first camper so please bear with me.
Thanks for any ideas provided.
11 REPLIES 11

revrider87
Explorer
Explorer
Ok thanks for the suggestions. Yes it happens for both hot and cold. I only have one sink so I'll check it out thanks

opnspaces
Navigator II
Navigator II
I'll add a few more suggestions and a question.

Check for a winterizing valve and hose by the pump. This hose is used to shut off the tank and suck antifreeze out of a bottle. Try sticking a piece of tape over the end of the open hose and see if the pump behavior changes.

Unscrew all the faucet aerators and try running the faucets again to purge the air. I had a plugged aerator once and the pump would run constantly but really low and slow so I could hardly hear it.

Is the behavior the same for hot water as for cold water?
2001 Suburban 4x4. 6.0L, 4.10 3/4 ton **** 2005 Jayco Jay Flight 27BH **** 1986 Coleman Columbia Popup