cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Onan Backfire - Not A Good Thing

Makin__Do
Explorer
Explorer
When not traveling I run my Onan 2800 for one hour under a 1500w load every other week. Always, when starting it takes a couple of tries for a few seconds for it to start, drawing up gas from the fuel tank I would assume. This past Friday I fired it up and after the second try the engine back fired. Pushed the start button again and it fired right up and ran smooth. Now, not being an expert, I would think that a back fire is not good for the engine. The temp outside was 37F and the fuel in the tank is about six weeks old and has Sta-bil added. The onan has 155 hrs on the meter. So, what might be the reason for the backfire?
19 REPLIES 19

Makin__Do
Explorer
Explorer
Thanks for the reply TEXAS. It's now easy to see where you are coming from. It is nice to know for now I don't need worry about a one time event, at least not let. I'm a firm believer in running an engine often and a fairly regular basis. Hate to put hours on the meter, but it's better than paying $700 plus to have it overhauled.

FWIW, GENSET 2.8KVFA26100K, serial A05074019.

mkirsch
Nomad II
Nomad II
That's it in a nutshell right there: Backfires are generally NOT harmful, and an isolated backfire is NOT necessarily an indication of some underlying issue.

If pieces didn't fly off and it ran fine afterwards, shrug your shoulders, make a mental note of it, and move on. In the spirit of the "my arm hurts" analogy, it's like going to the doctor and telling him you felt a brief twinge of pain in your arm two weeks ago.

Putting 10-ply tires on half ton trucks since aught-four.

TEXAS
Explorer
Explorer