Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

running an air conditioner on 250 feet of cord

pianotuna
Nomad II
Nomad II
Hi,

Obviously voltage drop is going to be an issue.

If I have a 20 amp 120 volt outlet, could I use #10 wire and place an autoformer at the RV end to deal with voltage drop?

What about using just a 15 amp outlet?
Regards, Don
My ride is a 28 foot Class C, 256 watts solar, 556 amp-hours of Telcom jars, 3000 watt Magnum hybrid inverter, Sola Basic Autoformer, Microair Easy Start.
21 REPLIES 21

LittleBill
Explorer
Explorer
greenrvgreen wrote:
Kettner's right as usual. I'm no electrical expert, but I've regularly used 200 ft of #10, and occasional 250 ft of mixed #10 and #12. No issues whatsoever all the way up to 25 amps.

Don't forget that resistance causes heat, and increases with heat, and where P Tuna camps, they don't got no heat.

whats your starting voltage? and end voltage at 25 amps?

greenrvgreen
Explorer
Explorer
Kettner's right as usual. I'm no electrical expert, but I've regularly used 200 ft of #10, and occasional 250 ft of mixed #10 and #12. No issues whatsoever all the way up to 25 amps.

Don't forget that resistance causes heat, and increases with heat, and where P Tuna camps, they don't got no heat.

pianotuna
Nomad II
Nomad II
Hi,

A new panel is due this spring--so I'll pay for a fifty amp outlet at the house. This is probably going to be moot as the owner is having second thoughts about allowing a gravel or rhinosnot pad to be created.
Regards, Don
My ride is a 28 foot Class C, 256 watts solar, 556 amp-hours of Telcom jars, 3000 watt Magnum hybrid inverter, Sola Basic Autoformer, Microair Easy Start.

time2roll
Nomad
Nomad
pianotuna wrote:
If I had my way I would definitely trench in the proper size cable, but the owner of the cottage refuses to consider allowing that to be done even at my expense.
How about adding a basic 30/50 amp connector next to the panel?