cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Water level

StewB
Explorer
Explorer
How much acid should be above the plates on a lead acid battery?

Thanks for any input
Stew
13 REPLIES 13

TakingThe5th
Explorer
Explorer
Old-Biscuit wrote:
I use one of these.......fill it with distilled water, insert it into battery cell, push down and water flows/stops when level reaches bottom of opening.

Easy..simple

X4 or 5 or whatever. Got mine back when I pumped gas for a living. Used it a lot back then. Works on both 6 and 12 volt batteries ๐Ÿ™‚
TakingThe5th - Chicago, Western Suburbs
'05 Ford F350 Crew 6.0 DRW Bulletproofed. Pullrite Super 5th 18K 2100 hitch.
'13 Keystone Cougar 333MKS, Maxxfan 7500, Progressive EMS-HW50C, Grey Water System.

StewB
Explorer
Explorer
Thanks for all the input.

Old-Biscuit
Explorer III
Explorer III
If you don't have room for the 'water jug' then you can always install a 'watering system'

That water jug has been around since, well I'm not sure. But I do remember Full Service Gas Station attendants popping the hood and using one of those water jugs on the battery
Is it time for your medication or mine?

2007 DODGE 3500 QC SRW 5.9L CTD In-Bed 'quiet gen'
2007 HitchHiker II 32.5 UKTG 2000W Xantex Inverter
US NAVY------USS Decatur DDG31

mena661
Explorer
Explorer
Old-Biscuit wrote:
I use one of these.......fill it with distilled water, insert it into battery cell, push down and water flows/stops when level reaches bottom of opening.

Easy..simple

That's pretty neat. I'll have to look this up.

RJsfishin
Explorer
Explorer
MEXICOWANDERER wrote:
The CORRECT LEVEL is that which is low enough to prevent purging at max charging and temperature. It is pre-determined by the manufacturer according to cell dimension and plate percentage fill. Start with a level 1/8" above the plates then check it again after max charge rate charging. If it did not rise a lot add a bit more water. Simple enough.

My original post still stands