Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Yamaha Generator question

EnzoColorado
Explorer II
Explorer II
I'm brand new to using generators.

A few months ago I bought a new Yamaha EF2000ISV2 generator. When I hooked it up to my travel trailer and try to run the microwave, the light in the microwave flickers and I can hear the sound from the microwave is lower and fluctuate compared to when connected to a outlet. I tried both the smart throttle setting and the full setting, both result in the same thing. I also noticed when the microwave is on, the generator's motor's pitch and frequency seems to be lower. The microwave also doesn't seem to heat up food much. Is there something wrong with the generator or am I not using it correctly? n
2017 Starcraft AR-ONE MAXX 20BHLE
2012 Suburban 2500 LT 4WD
35 REPLIES 35

philh
Explorer II
Explorer II
Bobbo wrote:
jfak7670 wrote:
Not so long ago I bought a new Yamaha EF2000iSv2 generator. Maybe someone has already had an experience with this gen and can suggest how many appliances can I run with it?

About 12 or 13 amps. You have to add up the amp draw for each appliance. If the batteries are low, the converter/charger may take up most or all of that.

I have the 2000 watt Honda. It is dedicated to charging low batteries, and nothing else. Everything else is on propane. No microwave while batteries are charging. No hair dryer while batteries are charging.

turn off the breaker if you need to run an appliance?

Bobbo
Explorer II
Explorer II
jfak7670 wrote:
Not so long ago I bought a new Yamaha EF2000iSv2 generator. Maybe someone has already had an experience with this gen and can suggest how many appliances can I run with it?

About 12 or 13 amps. You have to add up the amp draw for each appliance. If the batteries are low, the converter/charger may take up most or all of that.