cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Air bags/shocks and the anticipated ride.

jstaffon
Explorer
Explorer
I have a 2013 GMC Sierra 2500 HD diesel and a 35' 2016 Forest River Rockwood 5th wheel. I've been pulling 5th wheels since 2013 when I bought my new GMC. My ride is pretty good but do experience a little movement from the trailer when pulling. I'm pretty sure a dually would help but don't want to make that investment. I was hoping air bags/shocks might help. I've got 77K miles on my truck and I'm looking at new shocks. I'm considering air bags/shocks but don't want a stiff/bumpy ride when NOT pulling my trailer. I've never owned or ridden in a vehicle with air shocks. Can I adjust my ride so that I have better control when pulling the trailer and still have a smoothish ride when empty? Thanks in advance!
2020 GMC Sierra 3500HD Denali, Duramax
2016 Forest River Rockwood 8299BS

Jeff
Idaho Falls, Idaho
---
27 REPLIES 27

jstaffon
Explorer
Explorer
Thanks all! What a wonderful Forum! I appreciate everyone's input!

Jeff
Idaho Falls, Idaho
---

mkirsch
Nomad II
Nomad II
jstaffon wrote:
dockmasterdave wrote:
I've had air shocks in the past and will probably be adding another set soon.
They are easy to adjust pressure up or down. If the pressure is low it will ride just like before, pump the pressure up and the rear goes up and stiffens a little.
Still not a horrible ride when pumped up.

I don't want my backend to go up at all. With the trailer attached, the trailer and truck look like they are riding level. If I raise the backend, the trailer will ride high and shift weight to the rear axle of the trailer. Do you have control so you can provide stability with the shocks without raising the backend?