cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Attwood Water Heaters

Chanacres
Explorer
Explorer
Folks, could someone tell me if the Attwood Water Heaters for a travel trailer is the best one to to buy for a replacement. I am fairly new to the RV world, but my experience with this water heater has not been good. I have heard they are notorious for problems. I need to replace mine and if they are troublesome, I want to look for a alternative. Last problem was the thermostat, now its the tank leaking at top and my brother is having problems with his in his A-Motorhome. I think his problem is going to be the whole electronic panel in the upper right corner that the ignitor wire plugs into. He has replaced everything else on it. It will light and run for 10-30 minutes and then just go out and will not restart. We changed the least expensive things on his and now the 200+$ panel is all thats left. A friend is having problems with his as well. Any help or suggestions would be appreciated. I don't want to buy another problem!-----Thanks!----BTW, enjoy your forums!
10 REPLIES 10

Chanacres
Explorer
Explorer
The 10 gal Attwood in my brothers Motor home will light and run for 10-30 min. then go out and not 're-light unless it sets awhile. Any ideas on what would cause it?

enblethen
Nomad
Nomad
Bad ECO or thermostat

Bud
USAF Retired
Pace Arrow

2003 Chev Ice Road Tracker

Chanacres
Explorer
Explorer
The 10 gal Attwood in my brothers Motor home will light and run for 10-30 min. then go out and not 're-light unless it sets awhile. Any ideas on what would cause it?

John___Angela
Explorer
Explorer
We have a suburban in our C and an Atwood in our A. We are full timers since the last 10 years and one or the other is on whenever we are in one of the coaches. I had control board go in the Atwood 8 years ago. Has worked flawlessly since. I had an on/off switch go in the suburban about 6 years ago, it has worked flawlessly since.