cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Awning LED Strip install

AaronV
Explorer
Explorer
Most every project that I attempt outside of work(I am a carpenter) ends up having complications or just not going smoothly, even the simplest things. This project actually went real smooth and turned out surprisingly well so I feel the need to show pictures!

I've seen some threads where people go through the power awning power access area but mine was full of foam. I had to think of another approach so I bought a PVC junction box to hold everything water tight.

Used an old laptop power supply plug end to wire up to the 12v.

Everything tucked in the box with IR sensor out the bottom. I got the 12v from fishing wire up over the roof, down through the refer vent and spliced in behind the refer.

All closed up.
2013 KZ Sportsmen 242SBHSS
2005 GMC Sierra 2500 HD 6.0L
71 REPLIES 71

Racefan1
Explorer
Explorer
Could you tie into the outdoor light? If so how would you wire it in?
Sounds like a good power source to me, but electrical is not my forte.
We put 3M tape on the back of Sylvania Moseic lights and have the PVC box all wired to convert to 12 volt I can hardly wait to install them, but some guidance on the electrical would really help. I really would like to tie into the outdoor light. The light is a typical oval beside door light.

pchartrand
Explorer II
Explorer II
hops wrote:
Can these be wired in the middle of the run easily?

I'd like to tap my porch light, but it is not near the end of the run.