cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Before I shave 200#,s off...

Victory402
Explorer
Explorer
I'm right at about 220#'s overweight on my rig. Some of you would laugh at such a small amount, but I have a small 7' coachmen on a Ford Ranger. Add to the fact that I'm new at running a TC makes me extra cautious.

I'm already 1/2 tanking it and removed a bunch of misc stuff but still around 220#'s over.

I have some other ideas to reduce weight and wanted to ask for some of your input to help me along.

1. Replace stock mattress with an air mattress. aprx 40# reduction.

2. Remove air conditioner (wife not crazy about this one). aprx 90# reduction

3. Swap out 20# lp tank with a 11# lp tank. aprx 15# reduction.

Any ideas would be greatly appreciated. Thanks, Victor
76 REPLIES 76

noteven
Explorer III
Explorer III
Victory402 wrote:
Good job victor! Be careful of running your truck battery down though.....

Which leads me to my next question.
Can anyone recommend a top shelf truck battery?

Lithiom Ion

if you plan to eliminate dedicated camper battery power:

Essential one battery campin' accessory

sabconsulting
Explorer
Explorer
It is really fascinating to see how much weight you have managed to remove in only a few items - it really goes to show.

If we were hiking we would soon be removing unnecessary weight from our back-packs, but with truck campers it is all too easy to not bother applying the same logic. I guess our thinking tends to be "heck, the truck and camper are heavy anyway, no point worrying about the weight of an extra frying pan / tool kit / LPG bottle / ...".

It is really useful that there is a great range of lightweight stuff for sale for the hiking market that you can take advantage of.

Keep up the good work and keep up updated with the stuff you remove and weights of it.

Steve.
'07 Ford Ranger XLT Supercab diesel + '91 Shadow Cruiser - Sky Cruiser 1
'98 Jeep TJ 4.0
'15 Ford Fiesta ST
'09 Fiat Panda 1.2

PatStab