cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Best Diesel to tow 12,000-13,000 lbs?

jhamlin
Explorer
Explorer
Newbie here, so be easy on me eh? My wife & I are just beginning to consider what (used) diesel trucks to consider buying - to pull up to a 13K lb 5'er (not yet purchased). Looking at it another way, what engines and/or drive trains would you advise I stay away from? Diesel is my preference, and 100-150K miles on it isn't a problem if I can review maint. records - oil changes being the most important. We plan to pull the 5'er around 10K miles/year for a few years, out to AZ & back to Michigan. At this point, because there are so many factors involved (rear-end ratios, etc.), I feel somewhat vulnerable in the used truck market. Beyond picking the wrong engine/drivetrain configuration, we're also concerned that we don't wind up with a maint. nightmare or a lemon. Thanx in advance for any & all comments!
41 REPLIES 41

Engineer9860
Explorer
Explorer
FishOnOne wrote:
45Ricochet wrote:
rhagfo wrote:
ib516 wrote:
I would suggest a Chevy/GMC, RAM, or Ford (2011+ for Ford) of your choice if buying used.

If buying new, that list would then expand to include the Ford diesel. Nothing wrong with the Ford truck, but the diesel engines they used from 2003 - 2010 aren't ones I recommend people buy, though the 2008 - 2010s (6.4L) are slightly better than the 2003 - 2007 6.0L trucks.

JMHO

X2

X3

X4 :B

e=mc2
In Memoriam: Liberty Belle

Hannibal
Explorer
Explorer
blt2ski wrote:
I'll take the one that fits my butt the best!

Marty

At this point in life, after some surgeries on the ol' differential, I agree.
2020 F250 STX CC SB 7.3L 10spd 3.55 4x4
2010 F250 XLT CC SB 5.4L 5spdTS 3.73
ex '95 Cummins,'98 12v Cummins,'01.5 Cummins,'03 Cummins; '05 Hemi
2017 Jayco 28RLS TT 32.5'

Norskeman
Explorer
Explorer
A 34 foot Big Horn may be too much weight (pin weight) for a 2500HD - even an "older" 3500 HD