cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Dark differential lube

Blazing_Zippers
Explorer II
Explorer II
Being the good owner that I am---I took the Ram to a shop for its oil change. I've had LOF done there before with no issues.
This time, they said that the rear differential gear oil was "dark," and that the brake fluid needed changing. The truck has just over 26,000 miles, and about half of that was towing a trailer or fifth wheel.
I'm not a mechanic, but I've never had to do either of these things. In fact, I don't recall anyone I know changing these fluids except when disassembling their vehicle. Has this shop turned into a "stealership?"
Your thoughts please.
52 REPLIES 52

Grit_dog
Navigator
Navigator
larry barnhart wrote:
I have changed our rear end fluid 10 times. Very easy job.

chevman

In the same truck?
This is akin to the guy above who “excercises” every caliper piston throughout its travel range annually!
You all need new hobbies! Come to my house, I have some maintenance that actually needs to be done....
2016 Ram 2500, MotorOps.ca EFIlive tuned, 5” turbo back, 6" lift on 37s
2017 Heartland Torque T29 - Sold.
Couple of Arctic Fox TCs - Sold

Bedlam
Just to muddy this further: Remember that GM and Ram both use the AAM rear axle in their pickups.

Host Mammoth 11.5 on Ram 5500 HD

Dave_H_M
Explorer II
Explorer II
So now I am wondering if you could put some of that stuff in the Ram diffy's that Ford and GM does aand then not have to change it every time you drive down to the grocery store. It puzzles me.

Cummins12V98
Explorer III
Explorer III
Glacier D wrote:
My 2011 Ram 3500 maintenance schedule for the rear diff. is every 15,000 miles. Had that done at a local garage and added Amsoil 75-110 Severe Gear Lube and Magtec differential cover with sight glass from Geno's Garage. Problem solved!

Good call!