cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Fiver Guy Seeking Help With 1st TC (Need TC Education)

Mike3
Explorer
Explorer
Hello everyone, this is my second post on the TC forum. My previous one was getting info on how to make my F450 with a 5th wheel bed work for a TC. Thanks to folks here I think I got that figured out.

Now I need help in trying to choose the right TC for my needs. I have a lot of experience with 5th wheels but zero with TCs. I have a 2004 F450 with a heavy duty bed and airbags so I think I can handle most any TC but I need help with a TC education. The closest dealer is over 200 miles from me so I'm hoping to get basics from you guys.

I want a TC mainly for solo use with my dog and my Harley. I'm planning a 4-6 week trip out west pulling a trailer with my bike and I will also use it locally for similar outings. I will continue to use the Fiver when my DW wants to go and she or my grandkids may join me on occasion in the TC. So here are some newbie questions I need help with.

1. What are the positives and negatives to a side entrance? Do all side entrance TC extend well beyond the truck bed?

2. What are the positives and negatives of a wet bath vs a dry bath. Based on reading here the wet bath allows more space for other area with the downside being you have to dry it manually after each use. Anything else?

3. I plan to tow a trailer with a motorcycle, about 2K. How should that impact my choice and do I need any additional hardware for that?

4. Do most folks have a built in generator? Currently I have a Honda 2000 to charge fiver batteries. Will it run the AC in a TC?

5. Is backing under the TC and hooking up easily done by yourself? I've never seen this done.

6. How much clearance (inches) between your truck fenders and the TC jacks is normal? I think with my bed I will have about 1.5" on either side.

7. What are good tie downs and how much should I expect to pay for them and installation.