cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Forest River Hemisphere 26bhkhl

Apprenticelinem
Explorer
Explorer
Hey everyone, I'm very new to RVing, and have a question about my new rig. It's only a 30 amp and I'm wondering how others have handled that limitation as well as how difficult or easy it would be to have a certified electrician come out and hook me up with a 50 amp. Not sure how limited I'll be with all my electronics (i.e. laptop, PS4, tv, etc). Basically living in my rig full time while I work away from home, which is 11 days on and 3 days off. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.
8 REPLIES 8

bobndot
Explorer II
Explorer II
Thankful she doesn't own a hair dryer

If you ever need one let me know.
My DW has a hair dryer and a back up unit under the sink. Then I found another back up to the back up under the island bed, then another back up to those back ups in a locked toolbox (yes tool box, she was trying to fool me)
Then one day when I was vacuuming under the rear seat in the truck, guess what I found ? A 12v hair dryer … I guess in case of a black out or a failed Honda 2000 ? :R

Apprenticelinem
Explorer
Explorer
Thanks everyone for the feedback. I've been researching my brains out and that is one area I want sure about. Wanted to be sure that, with the ac running, I could still enjoy the things in my rig without the fear of every little thing tripping the breaker. 30 amps just sounded small, I didn't realize just how much I could throw on it.

2edgesword
Explorer
Explorer
prichardson wrote:
As long as you don't have multiple high amp items, ie A/C, water heater, hair dryer, etc., running at the same time you will have no problems.

Amen to that. My wife has managed to trip a 30 amp breaker in the morning by having the A/C, microwave, electric grill and electric coffee pot all going at the same time. Thankful she doesn't own a hair dryer :).

prichardson
Explorer
Explorer