cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

is it hard for a novice to repack bearings???

yankeeslover
Explorer
Explorer
im lost with this. 2011 featherlite 17.. im not sure if the bearings have ever been done. im no mechanic and don't pretend to be.LOL. is this a simple diy job or a job for a rv place to handle? Im assuming after 2-3 years that I should have them redone? if this is an easy job to do myself how is this done? the previous owner gave me all the manuals that came with camper but I couldn't seem to find anything on the bearings.... thank you for the help....
15 REPLIES 15

bovellois
Explorer
Explorer
The video provided by Downtheroad states it clearly, DO NOT place the jack under the axle. Can't trust a half ass shop for any repair. the smallest repairs are the most at risk.

I took my near new Corolla in the shop for electrical troubles. The technician fixed it all right, but he forgot to reconnect the power lead to the rad fan. You'd think with all their electronic fail-safe systems this would show up but no. I found out on the hotest day of summer in heavy trafic. I asked the dealer to make a note of the incident in the car file, FWIW.
Bruno, Carol, Thierry and Julien
Sankei the fox terrier
Starla the Gordon setter
97 Dodge 2500 4x QC diesel
2006 ROO19

yankeeslover
Explorer
Explorer
great, now we have to wonder if rv shops know how to jack up a trailer..LOL I would hope this place does. very repetuble dealer in upstate NY

Catrider1
Explorer
Explorer
It took 800 miles of bad tire wear before I realized there was a problem. Took the camper to an alignment shop and they showed me where the jack was placed. No one else has ever put a jack under this unit before this, but after 800 miles how do I prove it? I will do my own work from now on.

dadmomh
Explorer
Explorer