cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Newbie looking for some assistance

danv1317
Explorer
Explorer
I'm a travel nurse as well as my girlfriend. We decided we want to buy an RV to live out of for the next year as we travel the country (including alaska) to work. We have a brand new F150 v6 Ecoboost 145" wheelbase, 3.31 electronic lock RR axle, 7200# GWR, and the integrated trailer brake. A lot of the numbers i'm seeing are somewhat confusing to me. All the different payload, towing, tounge and so on...

The other kicker is i have to bring my 450lb motorcycle as i use that to commute and my girlfriend uses the truck.

We are trying to find out how big/heavy of a trailer we can purchase that my truck can handle. Any advice is appreciated. We are looking for used RV since we new to this. Only requirement is that it needs a shower. We are both 6 feet tall so we obviously want big as we can, but we realize that are truck will be the limiting factor.

Please let me know what is within my range. Thanks again for any advice you can offer.
Thanks
Dan
25 REPLIES 25

APT
Explorer
Explorer
Single rear wheel 1-tons are available. A gas powered 3/4 ton will also do in order to carry all the weight you want.

Not all toy haulers have an 8' dedicated garage. In fact, most of the ones in the weight range you want for the F-150 would be a combo garage living space. Something like this maybe:

A & A parents of DD 2005, DS1 2007, DS2 2009
2011 Suburban 2500 6.0L 3.73 pulling 2011 Heartland North Trail 28BRS
2017 Subaru Outback 3.6R
2x 2023 Chevrolet Bolt EUV (Gray and Black Twins)

danv1317
Explorer
Explorer
She doesn't love the idea of being the full time driver of the truck. And we want to spend time together while driving. I have put quite a few miles on the bike already this year (25K) which included a 12,000 mile round trip ride from San Francisco to the Arctic Ocean.

You can check out my blog: www.DanRidesADucati.com