cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Raising TC Off Bed

Go_for_Broke
Explorer
Explorer
Newbie here with a question about my first truck camper.

I have read that you can add rubber mat to the floor of the truck bed to raise the TC. This appears primarily to keep the shelf from contacting the roof of the truck.

So far, so good.

I would then assume that some sort of support would be added to the bed rails to support the TC full width.

Here are my questions:

What is a good material?
Should they be the full length of the bed rails?
Should they also span the width of the bed immediately behind the cab?
Should this supports be attached or are they retained by the weight of the TC?
Is a problem with water leaking around and filling the truck bed?
Anything else I should know about this technique?

Thanks Y’all,
17 REPLIES 17

ajriding
Explorer II
Explorer II
Im terribly sorry girtdog, I must have gotten lost in all the post. Thanks for policing the forum so constantly and making sure we do not make errors, glad you can be so analytical at the same time.

Grit_dog
Navigator
Navigator
^ If you re-read his post on the previous page, he says what camper and truck it is, and none of the potential issues you're talking about are issues with his setup.
2016 Ram 2500, MotorOps.ca EFIlive tuned, 5” turbo back, 6" lift on 37s
2017 Heartland Torque T29 - Sold.
Couple of Arctic Fox TCs - Sold

ajriding
Explorer II
Explorer II
You have a 6 foot bed (hopefully not a 5) and putting an 8 foot (bed) camper on it?
Good luck.
This kind-of negates couple of the benefits of a TC like being able to tow or taking it off road. Hard to do either with 2 extra feet hanging off the back, TCs already typically have about 20 inches hanging off, so are you going to have 44 inches?
Lot of weight behind the rear axle, so load all weight up to the front.