cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Suggestions please..new to this!

ValerieSarah
Explorer
Explorer
I need a truck and a truck camper by April. I am new to this so was hoping people had suggestions on what worked best for them. I plan on going out west and living off road and on BLM land and national forest land most of the time. I have about $20,000 to spend for both the truck and trailer. A 4x4 is a must but I am pretty open to everything else. Camper must have toilet and shower as I am going to live in it for 1-2 years. Any recommendations? Thanks!
12 REPLIES 12

mkirsch
Nomad II
Nomad II
My suggestion: GO SHOPPING!

The big RV show season is just starting, at least around here, and probably where you are too. Hit the shows, go inside the units, see what you like and what you don't. Climb into the shower and see how it fits. Sit on the toilet. Lay on the bed. Move around in the kitchen.

Salesmen won't bother you. I've been to several shows and the sales people don't even bother looking up from their newspapers even though I'm crawling all over their trailers like a spider monkey.

Once you get an idea as to what size trailer you want, start searching the inventories of all the local RV dealers. They generally have a lot of used trailers on the lot. Watch your local Craigslist.

Putting 10-ply tires on half ton trucks since aught-four.

profdant139
Explorer II
Explorer II
Valerie, if you are looking for a small trailer (not a truck camper), you can get away with a significantly smaller truck - like a Tacoma instead of a Tundra. Let us know more about your needs and wishes -- with so many of us waiting anxiously to give you our two cents worth, you'll be able to buy an Airstream Bambi! 😉
2012 Fun Finder X-139 "Boondock Style" (axle-flipped and extra insulation)
2013 Toyota Tacoma Off-Road (semi-beefy tires and components)
Our trips -- pix and text
About our trailer
"A journey of a thousand miles begins with a single list."

lanerd