cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Wagner rotors and severe duty pads?

Atlee
Explorer II
Explorer II
Just got my truck inspected. The front brakes are nearly shot. The rear pads have over 50% of their life left.

I had already planned to put new pads at least on the truck before heading out to the Rockies next June. Now, I will be doing it sooner rather than later.

Let also say I'm not a mechanic. I will not be doing the brake work myself. I know it's much cheaper, but a man has to know his limitations.

My truck is a 2014 F150 XLT, SCAB, 4x4, long bed with Max Tow and Heavy Duty PP. I pull a 6500# GVWR trailer about 50% of the time.

I went to 3 installers the other day. My Ford dealer was going to charge $700 for turned roters, new servere duty pads, and a brake fluid flush.

The second place said $350 for the same service, but I got no print out of those prices, and the young guy behind the counter struck me as tripping on something. No confidence there.

The third place gave me a print out with the prices for brand new Wagner rotors and severe duty pads, and a fluid flush with heavy duty Dot 4 fluid for $500.

I'm inclined to go with #3. Just wondering if the Wagner rotors and severe duty pads are quality parts, and if $500 is out of the ball park?

Thanks.
Erroll, Mary
2021 Coachmen Freedom Express 20SE
2014 F150 Supercab 4x4 w/ 8' box, Ecoboost & HD Pkg
Equal-i-zer Hitch
70 REPLIES 70

fj12ryder
Explorer III
Explorer III
babock wrote:
...I guess I don't get it...
I guess not, but cheap and lazy simply don't figure into it.
Howard and Peggy

"Don't Panic"

BenK
Explorer
Explorer
Agree with babock and add since the tire analogy seems to work for some...

It depends....

If one of my V rated passenger tires gets a nail on the RMA "repairable area", I'll either toss it or sell it with telling the buyer of why

It is no longer speed rated at V, but many, too many, will either not understand that or just say it is okay...