cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Slider hitch issue - Need Help!

Reader1
Explorer
Explorer
We have a slider hitch. After moving the lever from towing to maneuvering DH holds the trailer brakes so that he can ease the truck forward and the hitch will slide back into position slowly. But it sticks in the towing position. When he applies enough throttle to break it loose it jumps foward banging all to heck and back. Is there something we should be applying to the hitch to stop the sticking or is he doing this wrong. Please help, it feels like something terrible will happen.
10 REPLIES 10

wilber1
Explorer
Explorer
Was the hitch just installed? Sometimes the rails are a little out of line after installation and have to settle a bit. I had this happen. I had a hitch I had been using for ten years installed in a new truck and it was very stiff in the beginning. At first I thought I would have to take it back to the installer but after some use I was able to slide it by hand as in the old truck. Yes, keeping it lubed does help.

My hitch is a Draw-Tite 16k which is basically the same as a Reece.
"Never trust a man who has not a single redeeming vice" WSC

2011 RAM 3500 SRW
2015 Grand Design Reflection 303RLS

TubaPete
Explorer
Explorer
I frequently have the same problem. I think part of my problem is the "dogs" on the maneuvering lever hang up in the holes at each end of the slide. I haven't figured a solution yet, but dropping the legs to take some of the load off sounds like a good idea, even if inconvenient.
Tuba Pete

ggardne2
Explorer
Explorer