Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Popping spark plugs V10

getgoin
Explorer
Explorer
Hello All,
We just retired....traded the tt?, sold the truck and got a 2016 Winnebago Vista 26HE. It's nice for us and the fuzzy kids.

Now, upon reading everything I can get my hands on I can't help but wonder did we make a BIG mistake?....if I believed all that I read these F53 V10 are ripping out aluminum spark holes like crazy. Trying to pinpoint the problem years has proven to be nothing short of a waste of time! When and how do I find real info on this, years 3 valve, etc. Ours is the 3 valve so from what I can tell the plugs are of a strange, different configuration that traps carbon in the area beyond the threads thus leaving 1/2 the plug behind if not removed carefully....I use Kroil.

I am a retired machinist and after 40 years in the trade have a thorough understanding of PROPER power plant machining practices.....Is this the awful problem posters have depicted? Can 'standard' plugs be adapted to the 3 valve engines....what's the fix?

Too bad they don't put a Cummins in a 27 footer

Any and all info on this would be greatly appreciated

Thanks much,
Mike
33 REPLIES 33

getgoin
Explorer
Explorer
This post went a bit off track. The vehicle is a 2016 Winnebago Vista 26 HE (F53) with the V10 3 valve. It seems I am in the clear on this one. I would like to see a pic of the plug used in this engine.

Thanks for the replies,
Mike

CharlesinGA
Explorer
Explorer
pianotuna wrote:
So does Champion make a plug for the two valve engines?

Apparently the problem with the two valve engine is the lack of enough threads in the head, about 4 turns and thats all. The best plug in the world won't fix that. There are helicoil type kits out there to repair the heads if the thread tear out. Nice clean threads, lightly lubed with anti-seize and torqued to the minimum spec. Thats everything I have read.......... no personal experience.

Charles