cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Tow dolly without brakes

Larrysr1957
Explorer
Explorer
I will be renting a uhaul tow dolly for a trip I will be taking I am pulling it with a 1998 35 ft. Bounder the vehicle being towed is a Lincoln MKX I will be traveling at approximately 60 mph 400 miles each way does anyone see any problems with this setup
38 REPLIES 38

msmith1199
Explorer II
Explorer II
Passin Thru wrote:
Uhaul uses them because they are cheap. I am a professional driver. Drove Tractor Trailer and then pulled boats TTs and enclosed trailers and I don't like them. One has O control over how much they apply. In an emergency on wet or snowy pavement, you are simply in for the ride!. So you like them. So what? go ahead a buy them.

Actually U-Haul uses them because they are renting them out and the vast majority of all tow vehicles don't have a electronic brake setup unless the owner of the vehicle has a travel trailer.

2021 Nexus Viper 27V. Class B+

2019 Ford Ranger 4x4

msmith1199
Explorer II
Explorer II
Tom/Barb wrote:
Passin Thru wrote:
Surge brake are to cause accidents IMHO. I don't like them. Rent a trailer with brakes and drive it like you own it. You probably have the brake setup anyway.

Guess they cause so many accidents is why U-haul uses them on almost every thing they rent.

In fact, if you leave out camping trailers, I would guess the vast majority of all the remaining trailer types have surge brakes versus electric brakes. All boat trailers do, most all utility trailers and car haulers so, and most car dollies use surge brakes.

2021 Nexus Viper 27V. Class B+

2019 Ford Ranger 4x4

lonewolf80
Explorer II
Explorer II